Hide
All Hallows London Wall
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
Hide
"ALLHALLOWS, London-wall, the church of, stands a little westward of Broad-street in London-wall, whence it derives its second name. It is a rectory, the patronage of which was anciently in the prior and convent of the Holy Trinity, near Aldgate, who in 1335 presented it to Thomas Richer de Sanston. At the dissolution of religious houses in the reign of Henry VIII, this church, with the priory to which it belonged, was surrendered to the crown, in whose gift the advowson still remains. Its present rector is the Rev. Robert Nares, a canon residentiary of Litchfield, archdeacon of Stafford, and a prebendary of St. Paul's. He was instituted in 1817. It escaped the fire in 1666, but became latterly so ruinous that in 1765 the parishioners obtained an act of parliament to pull it down and rebuild it; which they did from the designs of the elder Mr. Dance, the (then) city architect." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]
Hide
This parish - no. 14 in the above map - is located in Broad Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt in 1765-7 by George Dance jnr.
The modern name of this parish is All Hallows on the Wall.
Hide
London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows London Wall.
Notes on Some of the Guild Churches, a paper by Sir Frederick Tidbury-Beer, to the Guildhall Historical Association.
Findlay, Donald. All Hallows London Wall : a history and description. London : Guild Church Council, (1985) 40 pp.
Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows London Wall parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.
Non-Church of England denominations identified in All Hallows, London Wall include: Greek Orthodox and Independent/Congregational [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].
Wikipedia page on All Hallows London Wall.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from All Hallows London Wall to another place.
Summary history of All Hallows London Wall parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.
Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows London Wall - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TQ330815 (Lat/Lon: 51.516488, -0.084919), All Hallows London Wall which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows London and All Hallows London Wall districts.
Clerical career summaries for the parish of All Hallows London Wall, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.
Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows London Wall parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.