Norfolk: West Bradenham

Extracts from Parish Register Transcripts

These extracts have been found by the Norfolk transcribers for FreeREG. They are in a transcription of a few of the entries from the West Bradenham registers of baptisms, marriages and burials. The reference given in the Family History Library Catalogue is Parish register extracts, 1538-1899. Church of England. Parish Church of West Bradenham. In Parish register extracts, Norfolk Co. -- p. 26-29.

Ministers of West Bradenham. The dates really are out of order, and the Rev. Chas. Topping appears earlier.

Signatures & Names. 1664. Wm. Shene Curate 1695. Saml Needham 1754. H. Topping. Vicar 1718. Edmd Nelson. Curate 1788. James Bentham. Vicar 1788. J.G. Micklethwaite. Curate

No reason is given for this list of names. They all appear in the parish registers from the 16th century onwards. By 1715 Munsawgh has become Munshore or Munshaw.

Munsawgh - Ward - Panke - Gray - Purvys - Bullock - Orton - Burden

These are newspaper cuttings stuck into the transcription. They are undated apart from handwritten dates, and none of the newspapers is named. They are among several others for members of the Haggard family.

1888 September 4 On the 4th inst., at Denton Lodge, Harleston, Norfolk, GENERAL MORDEN CARTHEW, C.B., late Madras Army, aged 83. 1890 May 15 CARTHEW. - On the 15th inst., at 3, Brandon-terrace, Great Yarmouth, aged 85, MARY, widow of the late GENERAL MORDEN CARTHEW, C.B., Madras Army. 1898 August The death is announced of the Rev. Lewis Morgan, vicar of Ainstable, Cumberland, a living he had held since 1887. He was previously for 16 years vicar of West Bradenham, and for 11 years vicar of St. Mary's, Tooting.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
February 2008